Derwent Derbyshire Management Catchment

Operational catchments

There are 3 operational catchments in this management catchment.

Filter map layers

Operational Catchments


Protected Areas


Boundary/GIS data for this area

All Data Summary

Printable view of all summary tables

View all tables

    Catchment Partnerships Pages

    To view the catchment partnership pages switch to the river basin management plan


    The catchment of the River Derwent covers an area of 1,197km2, covering much of the county of Derbyshire. The Derbyshire Derwent is a major tributary of the River Trent. Rising on Howden Moor, the Derwent is impounded by three public water supply reservoirs. It flows through a rural landscape towards the urban areas of Matlock and Derby. Other significant towns include Castleton, Buxton, Bakewell, Wirksworth, Alfreton and Belper. There are a number of important tributaries, the largest including the rivers Ashop, Noe, Wye, Amber, Ecclesbourne and the Markeaton Brook.

    Derwent Chatsworth